Loading... Please wait...

Popular Brands

Our Newsletter


FAQ

Frequently Asked Questions: 

Is your facility completely gluten & wheat-free?

YES! AND NUT FREE! Our facility is a dedicated gluten-free wheat-free and nut-free baking facility. We understand the importance of a dedicated gluten-free bakery because we suffer from celiac disease as well as allergies!

What is gluten?

Gluten is a special type of protein that is commonly found in rye, wheat, and barley. Gluten is found in many types of cereals and breads. Not all foods from the grain or grass family contain this type of gluten. Examples of grains and grasses that are gluten-free include wild rice, corn, quinoa, buckwheat, rice flour, white rice, sweet (glutinous) rice, and brown rice flour, millet, sorghum flour, coconut flour, and potato flour.   Visit http://www.celiac.org/ or http://www.gluten.net to learn more about celiac disease and gluten intolerance.

Why gluten-free, wheat-free?

A gluten-free diet is a diet that excludes the protein gluten. Gluten is found in grains such as wheat, barley and rye. A gluten-free diet is used to treat celiac disease as well as autism spectrum disorders. There are endless benefits to going gluten-free, even if the initial start is frustrating. When gluten is not digested properly the proteins in gluten cause inflammation in the small intestines of people with celiac disease. Eating a gluten-free diet helps people with celiac disease control their signs and symptoms and prevent complications.

To learn more about celiac disease visit http://www.celiac.org/

What is celiac disease?

(Pronounced: SEE-lee-ack disease) Celiac disease (CD), also known as celiac sprue or gluten-sensitive enteropathy, is a genetically linked autoimmune disorder that can affect both children and adults. In people with CD, eating certain types of grain-based products set off an immune response that causes damage to the small intestine. This, in turn, interferes with the small intestine’s ability to absorb nutrients found in food, leading to malnutrition and a variety of other complications. The offending amino acid sequences are collectively called “gluten” and are found in wheat, barley, rye, and to a lesser extent, oats. Anyone who has celiac disease or gluten sensitivity is, by definition, gluten intolerant.

What is dairy-free?

To be dairy-free means that you avoid milk products at all costs. Many people who deal with milk protein allergies and lactose intolerance go dairy-free to avoid painful physical symptoms. Many people who are dairy-free have little trouble with lactose-free products; others must go casein-free to be sure to avoid all painful symptoms.

What does casein-free mean?

Casein is one of the major proteins in the milk of all mammals including cows, goats, and humans. To be casein-free you must avoid all dairy, this means all milk products even those labeled lactose-free.

What does it mean to follow a soy-free diet?

A soy-free diet is recommended for people who are allergic to soy. This is one of the most common food allergies in infants, young children, and adults. It is recommended to eliminate all foods that contain soy or soy products in order to avoid unpleasant allergic reactions. Most people who are allergic to soy are allergic to the protein in soy as well.

What is guar gum?

Guar gum is a white flour-like substance made from an East Indian seed. Use small amounts as a thickener, binder, and volume enhancer.

What is xantham gum and why is it used?

Xanthan gum is a polysaccharide powder typically cultured on material from corn or whey. When combined with a liquid it adds viscosity and thickness to gluten deprived batters, salad dressings, and even ice cream. It also adds integrity to gluten-free baked goods, making them less crumbly. Guar gum and arrowroot can be used as a vegan alternative.

What does organic mean?

Organic produce and other ingredients are grown without the use of pesticides, synthetic fertilizers, sewage sludge, genetically modified organisms, or ionizing radiation. Animals that produce meat, poultry, eggs, and dairy products do not take antibiotics or growth hormones.

The USDA National Organic Program (NOP) defines organic as…

Organic food is produced by farmers who emphasize the use of renewable resources and the conservation of soil and water to enhance environmental quality for future generations. Organic meat, poultry, eggs, and dairy products come from animals that are given no antibiotics or growth hormones. Organic food is produced without using most conventional pesticides; fertilizers made with synthetic ingredients or sewage sludge; bioengineering; or ionizing radiation. Before a product can be labeled "organic," a government-approved certifier inspects the farm where the food is grown to make sure the farmer is following all the rules necessary to meet USDA organic standards. Companies that handle or process organic food before it gets to your local supermarket or restaurant must be certified, too.

What is non-GMO?

GMO means genetically modified organism, which is a novel organism created by scientists when they genetically modify or engineer food plants. Scientists have cited many health and environmental risks with genetically modified (GM) foods. As a result of these risks, many people in the United States, Canada, Europe, and Japan are demanding non-genetically modified (non-GMO) foods. At EvaRuth’s we are doing our best to avoid GM foods.

Do you have vegan items?

We do! We are always working to add to our vegan menu. To stay informed, subscribe to our newsletter. Our vegan items include brownies, chocolate chip cookies, grapefruit cookies, orange agave chocolate-chip cookies, ginger snaps, pizza crust, and carrot cake.

Do you have sugar-free products?

We do. Our sugar free products, listed on our menu, are created with Xylitol in place of sugar. Xylitol is a naturally occurring carbohydrate found in fibrous vegetables and fruit. It also occurs naturally in our bodies. Pure xylitol is a white crystalline substance that looks and tastes like sugar. Our breads are relatively low in sugar except for the cinnamon-raisin bread. From time to time we bake special sugar-free items. Subscribe to our newsletter to stay informed! Our sugar-free items include muffins (blueberry & corn), cakes (chocolate & vanilla), sugar cookies, and macaroons.

Do you make yeast-free items?

Yes. Our non-yeast items include corn, pumpkin, zucchini, and blueberry-corn muffins. Our cookies, cakes, and cupcakes are also yeast-free.

Do you have potato-free items?

Yes, we do. Our potato-free items include coffee cake & blueberry muffins, chocolate & sponge cookies, chocolate-chip cookies, and zucchini bread (seasonal).

Do you have any dairy-free items?

Yes. Our dairy-free items include dairy-free breads (white, herb, garlic-italian, dinner rolls), muffins (corn & pumpkin), pie crust, chocolate-chip cookies, chocolate cake and cupcake.

Do you have any soy-free items?

Yes. Soy-free items include pie crust, crackers, dairy-free white bread, muffins (corn, pumpkin, lemon poppy, blueberry, coffee cake), cakes (lemon, red velvet, chocolate, vanilla, pumpkin), cookies (macaroons, biscotti, oatmeal-raisin, chocolate-chip, sugar, orange agave chocolate chip).

Tax deductions for those with Celiac?

Yes... copy and paste the link below for more -

http://www.celiac.org/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=116&Itemid=207

 

download.png

Find us on http://www.alergyeats.com/!

 

Testimonials

"These products are by far the best gluten free items my daughter has ever tasted."
                                                                                                   Sarah (Washington)